National Honor Society New Chapter

Corbin Pettigrew , Editor: Virginia Bates

The Charles Herbert Flowers High School National Honor Society started its new chapter on March 10. The National Honor Society is a prestigious organization that recognizes and encourages academic achievements as well as other characteristics essential to citizens in a democracy.

The National Honor Society has four tenants: character, scholarship, leadership, and service. The Charles Herbert Flowers High School chapter of the national honor society was founded in 2003. The chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

The president of the Charles Herbert Flowers National Honor Society Chapter is Dikachi Opaigbeogu, the vice president is David Scott, the secretaries are Vicky Chen and Chibundu Onwuegbule, and the treasurer is Miya Allen. The advisors are Mrs. Samantha Cotton and Mrs. Denise McGregor.

To be part of this council, you need to have earned grades of a c or higher for all high school credits and completed a minimum of 50 service learning hours. The council is very friendly, and if you are on 11th and interested, I recommend contacting one of the advisors or the President.